For Sunday, June 9, 2019, The National Day of Puerto Rico Parade will celebrate in its 62nd edition, the leaders, educators, artists and celebrities that have left a cultural imprint in this nation. Its mission is to create a national awareness and appreciation of the Puerto Rican culture and its contribution to the United States.
Each year, the parade makes its way through Fifth Avenue in New York City on the second Sunday of June, in honor of the more than 8 million Puerto Ricans from around the world. The event, which will begin at 11:00 am (Eastern Time), has become the largest manifestation of ethnic and cultural pride in New York City, with close to three million spectators a year. makes one of the largest parades in the country.
Boxer Amanda Serrano, a native of the town of Carolina and resident in Brooklyn, has been named ‘Athlete of the Year’ after making history in winning world titles in seven weight divisions (115, 118, 122, 126, 130, 135 and 140 pounds).
“I am very excited for this honor. I always see the stop with my family and I have seen great athletes like Miguel Cotto and he always told me that it should be a great emotion to be part of this and now I achieved it. I am very proud to be an athlete of the year and to recognize women in sports. Whenever I climb into the ring, I rise with the flag of Puerto Rico high because it motivates me to fight more for women, for Puerto Ricans. I will continue to represent my island with all my heart, “said Amanda Serrano.
Serrano, is the only female or male exponent in the sport of professional boxing, who has won world titles in seven weight classes under one or several of the four world-renowned organizations (WBO, WBC, WBA and IBF), surpassing the legendary boxers Oscar de la Hoya and Manny Pacquiao, who have won world titles recognized in six weight categories.
Also honored will be Dalila Zapata Hernández, the first Puerto Rican model with Down syndrome who participated in the New York Fashion Week.
This year, the parade will honor several people and groups including:
Ricky Martin – Grand Marshal
India – The Godmother
José Feliciano – Lifetime Achievement Award
Chi Chí Rodríguez – Lifetime Achievement Award
Edgar Mart ínez- All Star Athlete
Alberto Carrión – Lifetime Achievement Award
Dagmar Rivera- Lifetime Achievement Award
Pablo Casals – Posthumous homage.
Pura Belpre – Posthumous Tribute

Please follow and like us: